Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart


New National Regional and Sectional Champions Page

Posted by Legion Baseball on March 29, 2015 at 10:35 PM

A new page has been added to the growing 'legion history' pages on the site: a page dedicated to the history of the national regional and sectional tournament champions dating back to 1926.  

The format of the national regional tournaments held between the state and national championship tournaments changed format several times throughout legion history. From 1926 to 1935 east and west sectional champions were crowned. Between 1936 and 1959 four sectional championships (northeast, northwest, southeast, and southwest) took place. The current format of eight regional championships began in 1960.

Boyertown won the state's first ever national regional championship in 1977, their first of nine titles.  Shaler is the only other Pennsylvania team to take home a Mid-Atlantic Regional championship which they did in 1979.  Three other PA teams have won regional titles outside of the Mid-Atlantic, with Levittown winning the Great Lakes Regional in 1977, Yardley winning the Northeast Regional en route to a national title in 1996, and State College winning the Northeast Regional in 1998.

The placement of Pennsylvania's second representative changed recently as now both PA teams head to the Mid-Atlantic Regional.

The page can be accessed at the following address, or by scrolling to the 'home' tab and down to 'legion history'.

Categories: General News, Site News